Breadcrumb links

UK Stem Cell Bank Steering Committee

A high-level steering committee oversees the activities of the UK Stem Cell Bank and the use of stem cell lines in the UK. Click on the links below to find out more about the committee.

Steering committee terms of reference

  • To develop and monitor implementation of a code of practice for the Bank and for the use of stem cell lines.
  • To review on a case by case basis all applications to deposit and access embryonic stem cell lines.
  • To monitor all applications to deposit and access fetal and adult stem cell lines.
  • To ensure that strategies are in place to manage risk.
  • To address issues reported by the local Management Committee for the Bank.
  • To consider issues identified by the User and Clinical Liaison Committees.
  • To report at least annually to the MRC.
  • To brief health and science ministers annually and advise them on request or as the need arises.


The steering committee also takes advice from other experts in specialist areas if necessary.

A local Stem Cell Bank Management Committee, which reports formally to the Steering Committee, deals with day-to-day issues relating to the UK Stem Cell Bank.



Membership of the Steering Committee for the UK Stem Cell Bank

and for the Use of Stem Cell Lines

Lord Willis


Dr Fiona Alderdice

School of Nursing and Midwifery, Queen’s University Belfast

Professor Malcolm Alison

Institute of Cell and Molecular Science, Queen Mary’s School of Medicine and Dentistry

Dr Yen Choo

Executive Chairman, Plasticell Ltd

Professor Steve Dunnett

Cardiff School of Biosciences, Cardiff University

Professor Robin Gill

Professor or Applied Theology, University of Kent

Professor Søren Holm

Professor of Bioethics, University of Manchester

Professor Rosamund Scott

Professor of Medical Law and Ethics, King’s College London

Professor Gordon Stamp

Director of the Histopathology Department, Imperial College

Professor Azim Surani

The Gurdon Institute, University of Cambridge

Professor Fiona Watt

Kings College London

Professor Andrew Webster

Director of the Science and Technology Studies Unit, University of York

Mrs Marilyn Weerasinghe

Lay member

Mrs Anna Bickerdike

Lay member

Representatives of HDS and Regulatory Agencies

Dr Angharad Kerr


National Institute for Social Care and Health Research (NISCHR)

Dr Jo Mountford


Scottish Executive Health Department

Dr Jill Shepherd


The Human Tissue Authority

Dr Chris O’Toole


Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority

Mr Emyr Harries


Department of Health

Research Council Representatives

Dr Frances Rawle

Medical Research Council

Dr Paul Colville-Nash

Medical Research Council

Dr Colin Miles

Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council



Contact: Stem Cell Secretariat, MRC


Contact Us
  • Comment?
  • Question?
  • Request?
  • Complaint?

Get in touch